4.5 Average Rating

4.5 out of 5 stars  281 Reviews
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

4-Star Hullo Reviews (24)

Andrew
Cypress, TX

Good Thickness, Doesn’t Go Flat When You Sleep on It

If you move around a lot in bed, constantly switching sides, then this pillow will tend to get harder. If you lay still for the most part, you shouldn’t have any trouble, but as someone who tosses and turns, the pillow is usually somewhat hard and flat by the time I wake up. That being said, it’s still my favorite pillow.

You’re not paying for cotton, feathers, or foam. You’re paying for a surprisingly comfortable bean bag designed with the head in mind. This is a premium pillow at a less-than-premium price.

So, what are buckwheat hulls? I don’t know, but they are so light in weight, that if you hold some in your hand and blow on them slightly, they will fly out of your hand. The closest thing I can compare them to is the thin, brown, plasticky material you pull out of your teeth after eating popcorn. The pillow, however, is pretty heavy, considering I just ordered the small one. That’s probably because of the shear quantity of material inside. The fabric that houses the hulls is very nice-feeling and relatively thick, too, and the zipper is very robust, so you shouldn’t have to worry about the hulls spilling out.

You can’t really prop up the Hullo to become a headrest to watch TV or use your phone in bed with the small pillow because it likes to abide by the laws of gravity. If you place it upright, it becomes a burrito shape, but if you keep it flat, it stays a pillow shape. I use a different pillow for sitting up. Bottom line: it’s a really good pillow, and a unique one at that. If you don’t like it, you can return it before 60 days.

I used a promo code for free shipping to order the small Hullo pillow. The medium is probably much better, but since the pillow retains its thickness throughout the night, there’s no need for me to upgrade, personally. The main reason why most people think they need a BIG pillow is because they want a thick pillow. As a wise man once said, it’s about the girth, not the length.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

May 31, 2020

Kristin
Fort Wayne, IN

Best So Far

This pillow is pretty much exactly as I expected it to be. It did not take long to get used to it, and after a few days I started taking hulls out, 2 cups at a time, to find what worked for me. This pillow provides good support. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is, I would like to have a little padding around the hulls. I think a pillow with hulls for the core and then a little padding around that would be ideal. I need support for my neck and back but also like a little cush around my head. Other than that, it’s exactly what I wanted.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

May 11, 2020

Ryan
Orland, CA

Excellent Head Support

I’m an extreme slide-sleeper. I only sleep on my back by accident. Hullo took 2-3 weeks to get used to – mainly it was a bit hard on my ear at the beginning but after a few weeks, no more. Clearly the human body is pretty adaptive (although I can’t train myself to sleep on my back). Hullo clearly supports my neck and my head, and is stable enough to keep my shoulder from digging in to the mattress & neck and cause day-long pain. Without Hullo, my shoulder would ALWAYS end up hurting by the morning as it took the brunt of my head’s weight and more. I figure this is because most pillows compress into hard as a rock over night – Buckwheat does not.

The trick is to have a thin bit of Hullo rest between my head and my shoulder, and bam, the pressure is off my shoulder and I feel no pain by the end of the night. My head doesn’t slowly sink. It stays where it needs to. Some buckwheat hulls may migrate elsewhere, but a quick “fluff” puts them back. As a side sleeper, it could use a bit more hulls than what is shipped by default but usually it’s enough. I tried to remove some hulls and that did not work for me. Guess I’m a hard core side sleeper. Anyway, this is so far the best pillow I’ve used and I’ve been through far too many.

This seems like it may be the last type of pillow to try; I’m very happy with it and it’s typically quite comfortable. Off-nights are to be expected, but more often than not, Hullo keeps my neck and shoulder from hurting! Yay!

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

May 10, 2020

Adam Danforth
Ashland, OR

Shockingly Comfortable

I ordered a buckwheat pillow per the request of a practitioner who was helping me with some back and neck injuries. While I place a high value on good sleep products, I was skeptical about the value of this option. (I was already donning a very comfortable latex pillow.)

The initial experience was based mainly on intrigue. I found the idea of the pillow interesting and, while the noise generated when shifting and adjusting was a bit bothersome, it didn’t deter me from continuing to explore the pillow’s potential.

The Hullo pillow quickly grew on me. I realized that it could help shape to any need I had and for any position I found myself wanting to lay in. I was no longer finding myself sticking a hand under my head or using my arms for additional pillow support. And as I shifted in the night it shifted to meet my needs.

I now recommend it to anyone who talks to me about pillows. It’s expensive and that is a deterrent for many, but I also like that it’s mainly plastic-free in its materials (aside from the shipping packaging which I think they should consider changing for the sake of being completely plastic-free).

As a pillow, it’s fantastic. And as a product, it’s almost perfect. 4.5-stars is the real review value.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

January 1, 2020

Maya
United States

Love the Pillow But Have Recommendations

I searched about the benefits of buckwheat pillow before making the purchase. No complaints there.

The pillow arrived with very less buckwheat. I called hullo and had to wait for more buckwheat to arrive before I can use my pillow. It would be better if they send more to everyone instead of less. The buckwheat crushes with use and I find myself adding more every few months. I recommended to a friend and he also had to wait for more buckwheat to arrive before he can use the pillow.

I like the material of the pillow case but they sewed over the zipper, so I had to remove stitches to unzip the pillow case. Small details but it creates hassle for the customers.

December 8, 2017

Micah Cooper
United States

Heavy, but Effective

Note, this pillow is not for everyone. First, the bad:

  • HEAVY
  • a little noisy
  • if you like to be fussy about your pillow positioning, this gives you lots of opportunity to be fussy
  • A colleague’s wife had one and returned it because she leaves jewelry in her ear and the Hullo was too firm for such a thing.

Now, the good:

  • Although it doesn’t feel “cool,” I really don’t notice it getting as warm as any previous pillow avoiding that warm pillow feeling. In fact, I don’t recall EVER needing to turn it or reposition it in the night or noticing in the morning that I’ve gotten hot. This is HUGE for me.
  • You really do have infinite positioning capability by shuffling the hulls when your head is on it.

Oh, unexpected bonus. Wife had Hullo over her abdomen when our toddler leapt on her knees-first. Hullo completely absorbed and dissipated the impact.

So, more bad points than good points, but the good points completely overwhelm the bad points for me. In short, it comes down to personal preference. You spend a few extra seconds getting it in the right position when you first bed down, but then you don’t need to move it all night, which is good b/c if you needed to, it’s heavy and noisy.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

October 28, 2016

Geoff
United States

Recovering Feather-Pillow-Addict Says YES

As far back as I can remember using a pillow at night, I’ve used a feather pillow. Pillows stuffed with the softest down have been my default, my go to. I haughtily looked down on pillows of any other type. This was even though I’d been growing more dissatisfied with my feather pillow’s tendency to wake me in the middle of the night because it’s lofty support had degraded and squished away through after a few hours.

Well, then I heard some ad-reads for the Hullo Pillow on The Talk Show podcast. I decided to give a buckwheat pillow a try. It seemed relatively risk-free.

The first week was difficult. I was so used to the soft, plushness of feather pillows: the buckwheat pillow felt like a slab of concrete in comparison.

But, then the second week hit. By then, my muscles were well adjusted. The pillow start to feel supportive rather than hard. I was a convert! This pillow is great.

This pillow excels at all-night-long support and good breathability. Unlike my feather pillows of the past, this pillow works with/for me, rather than against me.

What a fantastic pillow!

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

March 26, 2016

Phil
United States

The Best Pillow I’ve Had–Very Versatile

I like a hard pillow.  I don’t want to spend lots of $ to get one. After dealing with a chunky inconsistent pillow for too long I saw the Hullo pillow on a frequented website and said, what the heck, give it a shot.

The greatest think about the pillow is that I can adjust it anyway I want; harder, softer, build it up, sink it down.  It’s not just a hard pillow—it’s a pillow to meet any need.

I’m quite happy with it.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

March 6, 2016

Karoly
United States

Repeat Customer

I just ordered an other pillow for my wife, and that is a complement to Hullo for a fine product.

Thank you,

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

March 4, 2016

Tony
United States

Very Comfortable and Expensive

I’ve never cared for regular pillows as I find they get too warm under my head. I like to use the Hullo pillow snugly under my neck. It provides great support and doesn’t get warm. I gave it four stars because the price is somewhat high.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

March 4, 2016