4.5 Average Rating

4.5 out of 5 stars  364 Reviews
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

5-Star Hullo Reviews (286)

Jaki
New York, NY

Adjustable Support

I am very happy with my buckwheat pillow. I am a back sleeper and appreciate being able to shape the pillow to support my neck.  I took out some of the buckwheat filling but will save it for possibly replacing. The only draw back to the pillow is the weight. I bought the full size pillow so that it matches other pillows on my bed and it is heavy but worth it for the comfort. I would recommend this pillow.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

January 30, 2023

Christopher H.
Mahwah, NJ

5 Years Strong

I heard about this pillow years ago on a podcast with John Gruber and made an impulse purchase that changed my sleep. I have had my Hullo pillow for over 5 years and it has held up very well and is used every night.

I have now started to feel the need to add some hulls, but this is the first time I have needed to since owning it.

My wife and son are jealous of my pillow and I plan on getting them their own when I order more buckwheat for my pillow.

For some this pillow may feel heavy, so you may want to try the smaller version if that is an issue. You may also hear that the buckwheat hulls can seem loud. I had this same reaction at first, but after a few nights i didn’t notice the sound anymore; now it’s kind of soothing.

Thank you for making this product, it has changed how I sleep.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

January 26, 2023

Lisa Pence
Columbia, MD

Awesome Pillow!

I have tried dozens of pillows, from the cheapest to the most expensive. Every single one was a serious disappointment, especially the expensive ones because who wants to pay a lot for something that’s awful? I was beyond desperate. Why…WHY is it so impossible to make a firm pillow?? My head sunk to the mattress with every pillow I tried. So, not only no support, but the ends would pop up around my face. Uncomfortable and annoying! I stacked them…two, three, even four. That just made it annoying in layers.

I came across your product and thought it couldn’t hurt to try one more. I cannot possibly express how happy I am that I tried a Hullo Pillow. It’s a dream come true. I am not exaggerating. I had a bit of doubt that I’d like it when the noise of the hulls was mentioned. I should not have hesitated for a second. It’s very quiet, certainly doesn’t wake me up when I move during the night, and was very easy for me to get used to as I fall asleep.

Anyone struggling to find a good, firm pillow needs to try a Hullo. I have told every single person I know about this amazing pillow. I’ve even made a few people lay on it to see how great it is.

I am unable to thank you enough for making this pillow. I’m definitely going to buy more, for each side of the bed and for the couch, as I fall asleep there a lot.

Thank you,
Lisa Pence

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

January 14, 2023

Cara Harth
Stony Brook, NY

Can’t Believe I’m Sleeping on Buckwheat but I Love It

I love this pillow. Can’t believe I took the plunge but I really love it. I was worried it would be “noisy”, it’s not.

I don’t have to do weird things at night or figure out where to put my hand or tuck the pillow under my head “just so” anymore. Also, it’s great for reading in bed because it doesn’t “collapse” like other pillows do.

I didn’t want to spent the $ on the King size pillow so I’m using a standard on my King size bed and that’s fine. Plus the larger pillow would’ve been super heavy.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

January 8, 2023

Rich O.
New York, NY

I Never Thought I’d Write a Review for a Pillow

But wow, Hullo is different and in an amazing way. When it arrived I had SERIOUS doubts! Because it is SO different than anything I’ve ever used. But I sleep like a log with it and my snoring has abated. Game-changing.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

November 18, 2022

B Peterson
Montrose, MN

I Like This Pillow

I was looking for a pillow to help with my hot head problem. Had a pillow that is national advertised to help keep you cool at night. For me, I was still awaking up five or more times to flip to get the cool side up on that pillow. Internet searches on restless sleep and remedies for it led me to buckwheat pillows and I liked this pillow from the many I found. It took a few nights testing to find the correct amount of buckwheat needed to get the comfort I liked. Now that I have achieved it, it is heaven sleeping on it. Now I may wake up once to relocate to a cool part, but that is rare now. Also, if you are ever in a pillow fight remember that this is a Dirty Harry’s 44 magnum pistol of pillows so be careful. Next in the morning as you are making your bed you can get in a little kettle bell training with this pillow for how much heavier it is of your other pillows on the bed.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

November 11, 2022

Sandy
Camp Hill, PA

Couldn’t Be Without My Hullo

I have been sleeping with a Hullo pillow after trying one at a resort hotel. This was 20 years ago. I gave my husband this pillow and bought another for myself. Even tho it’s still fine, I thought it was time to replace with a new one. They are and do everything you say they do. 20 years is 👍 Love it!!!!

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

November 2, 2022

Paul Anthony Webb
Boston, MA

The Most Comfortable Pillow Ever

Regular pillows are often uncomfortable. Too firm or too soft, the middle ground seems to be old pillows but no one wants those. With Hullo, I can mold my pillow to however I feel like resting my head.

Those pre-molded pillows with the dip in the middle are fine if you sleep in a coffin. For the rest of us variable sleepers, Hullo’s the way to go.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

October 24, 2022

Stephanie
Arvada, CO

Love Hullo

I’m very happy with my pillow! I no longer have to wake up if I want to change sleeping positions and find my other pillow to adjust from back sleeping to side sleeping. I just fluff my hullo and go right back to sleep.

I feel like I get more sleep now, and my shoulders, back, and neck don’t feel sore in the morning.

This is a great product and I’m truly grateful for its invention!

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

September 16, 2022

Ken
Durango, IA

Glad I Finally Got Around to Trying It

I have heard about buckwheat pillows for years but had never tried one until now. Last night was the 4th night of sleeping with my new Hullo Buckwheat pillow. I really like it. It takes a little getting used to, but I know I’m falling asleep faster, tossing and turning much less, sleeping better, and I’m not waking up with the usual pain in my neck that I’ve had for a long time, so I think I’ve found my pillow for life. I can’t say that it is significantly cooler to sleep on than other so-called “cooling” pillows I’ve tried, but with the right pillow case on it it’s not as hot as some others I’ve tried. I removed some of the buckwheat hulls from it so that it isn’t quite as full as it was when it arrived and I think that made it even better.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

August 7, 2022

Atty
Santa Barbara, CA

Helpful, but not Super Soft and Comfy

The product gets 5 stars for meeting expectations. The pillow is exactly as explained. I have cervical stenosis and arthritis and nothing will remove the discomfort. Still, the texture from the hulls places my head at a perfect height to let me sleep comfortably on my back. I tend to sleep on my side, and so the edges provide less support than I want, or need. When I turn, I wonder if the crunchy sound might wake my spouse—he says it does not. And if I’m sound asleep, it doesn’t bother me either. I also think the hulls allow a definite cooling, which is great. I miss the softness of hypoallergenic polyester, but not the plastic, and certainly not the head-in-a-hole feeling. The Hullo pillow does what it says. And the smell is very very very faint and pleasant.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

July 31, 2022

Mike
Petaluma, CA

Excellent After Quick Adjustment Period

At first, it was a strange and new feeling (and sound) rolling around on my new pillow at night. I was worried I wouldn’t get used to it and would find it distracting. This quickly passed. I am 100% committed and happy with my Hullo and I want to take it with me when I travel! Add or subtract the buckwheat filler until the pillow thickness is perfect for you; then, once you settle in for sleep, the pillow takes the shape you need and holds that shape. It is heavy, so when you are selecting your size, keep in mind that it’s not as easy to move as you might like (for example, when sliding toward my partner in the center of the bed vs when scooting off to give her some space). If you’re on the fence, just give it a try. I really do recommend this product.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

July 11, 2022

Meg Girty
New Kensington, PA

I Won’t Use Anything Else

I first started using a buckwheat hull pillow over 20 years ago under a brand name. When it came time to replace them I found this site Hullo Pillow because I searched for just the hulls in order to make my own rather than pay over $70 each for a replacement. I bought the 10 lb bag of Hullo. I also bought smaller (may be for a crib but they’re slightly smaller than standard sized) zippered pillow cases and waterproof zippered standard pillow cases on another site. I wound up with 3 nicely stuffed pillows. It sounds like a lot of cases but my dog likes to lick pillows for some reason. I stuffed each small case with Hullo and then put into a waterproof case before putting all into my regular cases that go with whatever sheets I’m using.

At first they’re crunchy but you get used to that and it’s fantastic to have a firm and cool pillow under my head and shoulders that doesn’t shift or go flat as I move around. One little push or pull and it’s readjusted. No waking up to fluff and readjust like with poly fill, foam, etc. It’s also so much cooler especially in the summer time. These 3 new ones will last me a long time and I’ve recommended Hullo to several friends with neck and shoulder problems who have tried out mine and swear by using buckwheat pillows now.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

July 9, 2022

Tess
Tacoma, WA

Different but Better

After switching to a Hullo pillow earlier this year, I can’t imagine ever going back to a feather pillow again. I’m no longer woken up with a sore shoulder or having to get out of bed in the morning with a stiff neck. The filling makes these pillows super adjustable. It took a couple nights to get used to it but now my partner and I love these!

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

May 30, 2022

Phil
Madison, WI

Wish I had Tried this Sooner!

Love my Hullo. Unlike any other pillow I’ve tried, I can shape it just to the right height and comfort, and then it STAYS PUT. My head doesn’t sink in gradually, and I finally can get the support I need as a side sleeper, and have it stay put all night. I wouldn’t recommend this for back sleepers, but for me it has been the pillow I have always needed but never had. I also love that the filling level can be adjusted, and that the filling contents are compostable if i ever need to replace them—so tired of all the plastic filled pillows.

Also, for anyone wondering about size, I got the small, and I’m super glad I did. It’s just the right size, and supports my head perfectly without having a lot of extra pillow sticking out everywhere. Standard size pillows would always get in the way of where i wanted to put my arms when side sleeping, but the small doesn’t have this problem. I also think the standard size would be harder to adjust and heavier to move around, but the small is perfect. Only downside is it is harder to find pillow cases for, but it fits pretty well sideways in a standard size pillow case with the empty half of the pillow case tucked under the pillow.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

May 16, 2022

Juan
San Francisco, CA

The Ultimate Pillow

We have used the buckwheat pillows since 1996 and they finally wore out. We browsed the Internet and we found Hullopillow.com

We have purchased 2 of the queen size pillows and they are the real deal. These pillows do not smell or have any odor. If you have any doubt about these pillows, please don’t hesitate Purchase them. We have done some research and these are the best!

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

May 16, 2022

S.
Mountain View, CA

Took Time to Grow on Me, but this is the Best!

The hullo buckwheat pillow is very comfy. I had to remove some of the hulls but once a couple of weeks went by, I find the pillow very comfortable. It is solid and forms a concave shape based on your head position. This is the best pillow I have used.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

April 25, 2022

Carol
Sun Prarie, WI

Great Pillow!

Very adjustable since you can remove hulls to fit your specific body size.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

April 19, 2022

Dan C.
Richmond, VA

My Wife Makes Fun of Me…

…but I sleep better than I ever have with my Hullo pillow. I was hesitant at first, I’ve never spent so much on a pillow before, but I go through a couple of pillows a year because they flatten out. At one point I was sleeping with 2 or 3 pillows to be comfortable. This is the last pillow I’ll ever buy! It is comfortable, stable, and stays cool.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

April 16, 2022

Dee
Philadelphia, PA

Love This Pillow

I bought this pillow because I sleep with a CPAP machine for sleep apnea and wasn’t able to sleep on my side with a regular pillow. I’ve been sleeping like a champ (on my side) and getting a great night’s sleep with my Hullo pillow! I saw reviews complaining that the pillow is noisy, but that’s not an issue for me.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

April 10, 2022

Steve Ralph
Oconomowoc, WI

Great Pillow

The pillow is very supportive!

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

April 4, 2022

Deb
Phoenix, AZ

Love Buckwheat Pillows!

We’ve been sleeping on buckwheat pillows for decades and love them. When it was time to buy new ones, we did a bit more research than previously and we’re happy to have found Hullo. After a few hull adjustments, we’re as pleased as can be with our pillows. My only suggestion is that the pillows could be made with 100% organic components: buckwheat hulls and pillow cases. Highly recommend Hullo.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

April 2, 2022

Alex
Minneapolis, MN

So Good!

I was admittedly very skeptical about the Hullo pillow and didn’t even throw away the box, thinking I’d return it. I kid you not, after night one, I woke out without any neck/jaw pain for the first time in YEARS. I was absolutely shocked and cannot say enough good things about the pillow. I ended up buying a second for my mom and she loves hers, too.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

March 20, 2022

David Crowther
Lehi, UT

I Use Just One Pillow Now and Don’t Have to Flip It

It did take a few days to adjust to the Hullo pillow. Now I use just one Hullo pillow after using 2 pillows for years. It doesn’t get hot (haven’t tried it through a summer yet) and the support is great. An unexpected benefit from the Hullo is that it provides wonderful back support when I sit up in bed (I put a big throw pillow on top of the Hullo for my head).

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

February 16, 2022