4.5 Average Rating

4.5 out of 5 stars  209 Reviews
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

2-Star Hullo Reviews (10)

Kirk
United States

Bad if You Sleep with an Arm Under the Pillow?

I like the concept of a well structured pillow, especially for sitting, but for sleeping I found it dangerous… apparently my natural sleep position is to put an arm under my head (and pillow) and as i sleep the Hullo puts too much pressure on it and the arm gets tingly etc. I’m not sure if removing hulls would help or not.

December 8, 2017

Thom Dougherty
Sedona, AZ

Large Zippered Sack, 60% Filled with Black Hulls

The bag/case/pillowcase that the hulls are in should be 60% smaller in order for it to hold the loft, shape and cooling properties of a genuine Japanese Buckwheat pillow. I now need to either manufacture a pillow case with the correct circumference for this pillow or else buy a less expensive but correctly filled and proportioned pillow on another site.

From Hullo: We immediately contacted the customer offering his choice of a full refund, a smaller size pillow, or some extra hulls to fill his pillow. The customer opted for additional hulls to address his concerns.

December 27, 2016

Adam
United States

Good at First

I loved this pillow at first, the noise was nothing and the comfort level was high. It even looked really good, which is not something I normally notice.

However, after a few months, I started developing headaches and neck pain. I took out fill, added fill, and did what I could. It just wasn’t for me. I shift from my side to my back during the night and it’s not easy to readjust the pillow without waking up and doing it. Of course, I was outside the return window but that was my fault.

October 28, 2016

Paige Findley
United States

Anyone Want Mine?

It’s basically a bag of beans. It may keep temperature a bit cooler, but not very comfortable.

My wife & I both tried it over the course of 7 months. But now its in the closet waiting for the next garage sale. Most recently I used it for a gun rest to get sighted in for deer season. Worked great, but a pretty expensive gun rest.

October 24, 2016

Joe Fretschel
United States

Too Tough for Me

I like it when I’m on the couch watching TV- but I rarely do that anymore. Truthfully if I would have kept my receipt, I would have returned it within the 60 days. I wanted to give the pillow a fair shake by waiting the 60 days, but this added to my losing track of the receipt and original packaging which my wife tossed out by mistake.

March 3, 2016

Alexander Bradley
Blackwood, NJ

Great Return Policy!

Imagine being on a beach, and building up a little pile of sand, and then putting a towel over it and laying down on it. You can smush your head into it and it’ll form a perfectly comfortable spot to lay, but if you want to move, you have to do the whole thing over again.

That’s what a hullo is like. It’s dense and much heavier than a normal pillow, which is fine, but you have to adjust it to get comfortable with it. I do find it to be a comfortable pillow, but if every time I get up to use the bathroom, change position or roll over, I need to fluff a noisy bag o’ buckwheat, I’d rather just use a normal pillow.

I returned the hullo months ago, and just got an email today asking for a review. That’s either poor programming by hullo, or a great and honest company who even wants the people who don’t enjoy their product to write reviews.

Terrific customer service. Meh pillow.

March 3, 2016

East Bay Folks
United States

Really wanted to like this pillow!

As a public health professional, I’m striving to have the most natural (non-toxic) bedding possible, so was super excited to order and receive the hullo pillow. After the first night, woke up with noticeably sore neck. Adjusted the pillow by taking some filling out. After second night, same thing. Took more filling out. Started having not only a neck so sore I could barely turn it, but also tingling in my wrists and hands. Instead of getting better, just got worse. My partner tried it and also found it disappointingly less comfortable than our existing pillows, even after a week or two of experimenting with it. We unfortunately lost some precious sleep and didn’t see any upward trends in the weeks we tried it. I’m so glad it works well for some people! Did not for us.

January 11, 2016

Kristen
United States

Hullo Review

After doing some research and advice from friends, I decided to purchase the Hullo pillows. It took a little not to get used to, adjusting the amount of filler, and still can’t get it right for a sound sleep. I still wake up with tingling in my arms. Unfortunately It is past the return requirements so I am still trying to make it work. Many of my friends love it but me, not so much.

July 16, 2015

Anonymous
United States

Pillow Size

I want a small sized pillow. The big ones have too much space for the hulls to float around in, making either way too large of a pillow or too small with a big bump in the back.

All the internet shops seem to sell only large sizes..for big americans, I presume.

I started with a  small size… about 11 by 7 inches. Loved it for 10 years, but left it at my sister’s house and her dogs chewed it up.

It looks like I’ll have to make my own.

Please think about offering a small size.

From Hullo: Thanks to customer feedback, we now offer Hullo in a traditional small size.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

March 1, 2014

Anonymous
United States

It’s Different

It’s different. I would recommend hullo to a friend. It would be nice if it came with a little extra buckwheat to add more support in the pillow.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

July 8, 2013