Hullo™ Buckwheat Pillow Reviews

4.7/5 Average Rating 4.7 out of 5 stars (101)

90% of respondents would recommend Hullo to a friend.

February 5, 2016

New Level of Comfort & Sleep

Rating: 5.0 out of 5 stars (5/5)  I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

To be honest, when I first got the pillow, I thought it was weird and didn’t see what all the fuss was about. It took a week or two, but sure enough Hullo became the only pillow I enjoy sleeping on.

I sleep on both my side and back and I always used two soft pillows, often folding one of them in an attempt to get the support to hold my head and neck in the right position. With Hullo, I form the pillow to the perfect shape and thickness and it holds my head in the right position all night long.  If I roll over or readjust in the night, its easy to shift the fill with my hands to adapt do different sleeping positions.

Now, floppy soft pillows just seem woefully inadequate and I sleep on Hullo every night. I even take it with me when I travel, because no other pillow comes close. Highly recommended!

–Nicholas

Verified Purchase

January 11, 2016

Really wanted to like this pillow!

Rating: 2.0 out of 5 stars (2/5) 

As a public health professional, I’m striving to have the most natural (non-toxic) bedding possible, so was super excited to order and receive the hullo pillow. After the first night, woke up with noticeably sore neck. Adjusted the pillow by taking some filling out. After second night, same thing. Took more filling out. Started having not only a neck so sore I could barely turn it, but also tingling in my wrists and hands. Instead of getting better, just got worse. My partner tried it and also found it disappointingly less comfortable than our existing pillows, even after a week or two of experimenting with it. We unfortunately lost some precious sleep and didn’t see any upward trends in the weeks we tried it. I’m so glad it works well for some people! Did not for us.

–East Bay Folks

Verified Purchase

December 3, 2015

No More Pain

Rating: 5.0 out of 5 stars (5/5)  I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

I used to have neck pain when I woke up in the morning. So annoying! But I’ve been using the Hullo for several months now, and I love it. With a flick of my hand, I can adjust how much filling is under my head; I push the buckwheat to be flatter or make a raised area under my neck. I had tried SO many kinds of pillows and none of them stopped the pain until I tried this. I don’t think it’s noisy at all–never bothered me one bit. (My spouse says he never hears it either.)

–Kelly

Verified Purchase

November 1, 2015

Noisy

Rating: 3.0 out of 5 stars (3/5)  I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

I must preface this review by stating that I am a side and stomach sleeper and I toss and turn a lot throughout the night.

Moving around and adjusting the hullo pillow is very noisy and can be quite a disruption in a quiet room.

Also, I’ve not been able to sleep on my stomach with this pillow as it is just too uncomfortable. I tried removing some material to make it a little thinner, but then it was uncomfortable on my sides and back.

I wanted to love this pillow so much, but I consistently find myself pushing it aside and grabbing a conventional pillow instead.

The craftsmanship is great and I would absolutely give it a try for yourself though! Their return policy seems very favorable.

–Kyle

Verified Purchase

August 11, 2015

In Love!

Rating: 5.0 out of 5 stars (5/5)  I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

For 19 years I used a small buckwheat hull pillow called “Bucky”. This past spring, my Bucky finally fell apart and I found it is no longer manufactured. I started to panic because I can never sleep on any other kind of pillow and always brought Bucky along when I traveled. To my immense relief, I found Hullo and it is every bit as good as Bucky was! I sleep in all four positions during the night and with a slight shove, Hullo adjusts perfectly to cradle my neck no matter where I am.

Thank you!

–Cindy Jones

Verified Purchase

August 6, 2015

Love My Pih-dough

Rating: 5.0 out of 5 stars (5/5)  I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

When my son was just learning to talk he loved his pillow. He didn’t have a special blanket, he had a special pillow which he called his pih-dough. It was cute then. But now, twenty years later I find I have a special pih-dough. I have tried many different kinds of pillows such as memory foam, down, special shapes and curves promising comfort and relief. None really worked for me.

Then I read about the Hullo Pillow on a trusted website. I felt I had nothing to lose in view of the generous trial period. I liked the pillow right away. But in the weeks I have been using it, I have learned how to shape it just right for great sleeping. No more neck aches. Lots of support. Cool comfort. Now I have a special pih-dough–I love it.

Thanks.

–David O.

Verified Purchase

August 6, 2015

Good for Sleeping on Your Side

Rating: 5.0 out of 5 stars (5/5)  I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

I mostly am a side-sleeper. My Hullo pillow is just the thing I need.

I took out some of the hulls so the normal height was just right for me, or a bit high. Then a very slight adjustment gets me to perfect.

–John Weidner

Verified Purchase

August 5, 2015

Incredible, It Actually has Kept My Head cool at Night

Rating: 5.0 out of 5 stars (5/5)  I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

When I heard about Hullo and the claim about it allowing air to flow through it, I thought I’d give it a try.

I got this as a father’s day present from my wife and kids. Ever since I got it (it’s August now) I can’t recall having a single night where I was feeling hot and sweaty on my head. This alone has made Hullo be the best pillow I’ve ever owned.

Asides keeping my head cool at night, the fact that allows me to make it conform to the shape of my head/face is a huge bonus. I sleep on my side, and I can now be comfortable without feeling like I am drowning in a too-soft pillow, or having my head at a weird angle because the pillow is too tall or hard. If laying on my back, I can have more of the fill support my neck… there’s always a way to make it fit whatever position your head is on it.

The pillow is quite heavy, but that has turned out to be a good thing: It stays where you want it to stay.

The noise it makes from the hulls shifting around is not bad: my wife says she’s never heard it or bothered her at night. And if she’s happy with it, it’s a keeper.

I didn’t have to mess with the amount of fill… I’m using it as it arrived, since after a couple nights of use I realized how I could move the hulls around.

I added another zipper cover and my usual pillow cover and have loved it ever since I got it.

If pillows are a pain in the neck for you, I would say you should at least give it a try. Chances are this is the pillow for you. You’ve got nothing to lose.

–Mau Sandoval

Verified Purchase

August 5, 2015

True Relief from Headaches!

Rating: 5.0 out of 5 stars (5/5)  I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

I have suffered from years of tension headaches and restless sleep. My chiropractor said that with my overly tense neck muscles it was pertinent to get a new pillow. I tried the temperpedic pillows for a while which only exacerbated my symptoms. My neck was still too small to use these pillows. It wasn’t until I came across Hullo pillows that I’ve experienced relief!!! It was odd at first to get used to sleeping on a buckwheat hull pillow but it truly does what it says it does! Provides support all through the night, even when I want to change sleeping positions. The hulls can make noise as I move positions but it has never bothered me or my husband.

I take this pillow with me everywhere now when I travel and truly believe it’s made a big impact on the amount of headaches I experience. I would recommend this to anyone who’s struggled to find the right pillow. Give it a try, it can make all the difference.

–Kali

Verified Purchase

August 5, 2015

Love My Hullo

Rating: 5.0 out of 5 stars (5/5)  I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

Took a while to get used to the noise, and some fine tuning on the amount of fill, but my Hullo pillow is now my guarantee of a good sleep with no stiff neck or shoulders in the morning. I’m a back sleeper and Hullo lets me have neck/cervical support while still letting my head rest just slightly to the side to prevent snoring.

I bought the small size which sideways in a standard pillow case that I then fold in half. To adjust the softness I took out enough hulls that I filled a little pillow that works great as a lap pillow to prop my Kindle or iPad on when I read.

–Michele

Verified Purchase