4.5 Average Rating

4.5 out of 5 stars  354 Reviews
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Hullo Pillow Reviews

Stephanie
Arvada, CO

Love Hullo

I’m very happy with my pillow! I no longer have to wake up if I want to change sleeping positions and find my other pillow to adjust from back sleeping to side sleeping. I just fluff my hullo and go right back to sleep.

I feel like I get more sleep now, and my shoulders, back, and neck don’t feel sore in the morning.

This is a great product and I’m truly grateful for its invention!

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

September 16, 2022

Ken
Durango, IA

Glad I Finally Got Around to Trying It

I have heard about buckwheat pillows for years but had never tried one until now. Last night was the 4th night of sleeping with my new Hullo Buckwheat pillow. I really like it. It takes a little getting used to, but I know I’m falling asleep faster, tossing and turning much less, sleeping better, and I’m not waking up with the usual pain in my neck that I’ve had for a long time, so I think I’ve found my pillow for life. I can’t say that it is significantly cooler to sleep on than other so-called “cooling” pillows I’ve tried, but with the right pillow case on it it’s not as hot as some others I’ve tried. I removed some of the buckwheat hulls from it so that it isn’t quite as full as it was when it arrived and I think that made it even better.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

August 7, 2022

Atty
Santa Barbara, CA

Helpful, but not Super Soft and Comfy

The product gets 5 stars for meeting expectations. The pillow is exactly as explained. I have cervical stenosis and arthritis and nothing will remove the discomfort. Still, the texture from the hulls places my head at a perfect height to let me sleep comfortably on my back. I tend to sleep on my side, and so the edges provide less support than I want, or need. When I turn, I wonder if the crunchy sound might wake my spouse—he says it does not. And if I’m sound asleep, it doesn’t bother me either. I also think the hulls allow a definite cooling, which is great. I miss the softness of hypoallergenic polyester, but not the plastic, and certainly not the head-in-a-hole feeling. The Hullo pillow does what it says. And the smell is very very very faint and pleasant.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

July 31, 2022

Mike
Petaluma, CA

Excellent After Quick Adjustment Period

At first, it was a strange and new feeling (and sound) rolling around on my new pillow at night. I was worried I wouldn’t get used to it and would find it distracting. This quickly passed. I am 100% committed and happy with my Hullo and I want to take it with me when I travel! Add or subtract the buckwheat filler until the pillow thickness is perfect for you; then, once you settle in for sleep, the pillow takes the shape you need and holds that shape. It is heavy, so when you are selecting your size, keep in mind that it’s not as easy to move as you might like (for example, when sliding toward my partner in the center of the bed vs when scooting off to give her some space). If you’re on the fence, just give it a try. I really do recommend this product.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

July 11, 2022

Meg Girty
New Kensington, PA

I Won’t Use Anything Else

I first started using a buckwheat hull pillow over 20 years ago under a brand name. When it came time to replace them I found this site Hullo Pillow because I searched for just the hulls in order to make my own rather than pay over $70 each for a replacement. I bought the 10 lb bag of Hullo. I also bought smaller (may be for a crib but they’re slightly smaller than standard sized) zippered pillow cases and waterproof zippered standard pillow cases on another site. I wound up with 3 nicely stuffed pillows. It sounds like a lot of cases but my dog likes to lick pillows for some reason. I stuffed each small case with Hullo and then put into a waterproof case before putting all into my regular cases that go with whatever sheets I’m using.

At first they’re crunchy but you get used to that and it’s fantastic to have a firm and cool pillow under my head and shoulders that doesn’t shift or go flat as I move around. One little push or pull and it’s readjusted. No waking up to fluff and readjust like with poly fill, foam, etc. It’s also so much cooler especially in the summer time. These 3 new ones will last me a long time and I’ve recommended Hullo to several friends with neck and shoulder problems who have tried out mine and swear by using buckwheat pillows now.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

July 9, 2022

Chris McGee
Lexington, KY

Can Be Hard, but Easily Fixed

I didn’t think I’d like this pillow. After all, how could buckwheat hulls be soft enough for a pillow? Well, it turns out that if you think of them more like a beanbag chair, then you get a better idea of how they can be comfortable. After the first two nights of good sleep, I was mostly convinced that these are just as good as a regular feather or memory foam pillows.

Sometimes you might get in a position where the pillow just feels hard, like a rock. But a little fluffing with your hands can fix that, so it’s not a big deal; your head will then sink right into that ‘rock.’ Definitely give it a try. It’s better than you might think.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

June 28, 2022

Tess
Tacoma, WA

Different but Better

After switching to a Hullo pillow earlier this year, I can’t imagine ever going back to a feather pillow again. I’m no longer woken up with a sore shoulder or having to get out of bed in the morning with a stiff neck. The filling makes these pillows super adjustable. It took a couple nights to get used to it but now my partner and I love these!

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

May 30, 2022

Phil
Madison, WI

Wish I had Tried this Sooner!

Love my Hullo. Unlike any other pillow I’ve tried, I can shape it just to the right height and comfort, and then it STAYS PUT. My head doesn’t sink in gradually, and I finally can get the support I need as a side sleeper, and have it stay put all night. I wouldn’t recommend this for back sleepers, but for me it has been the pillow I have always needed but never had. I also love that the filling level can be adjusted, and that the filling contents are compostable if i ever need to replace them—so tired of all the plastic filled pillows.

Also, for anyone wondering about size, I got the small, and I’m super glad I did. It’s just the right size, and supports my head perfectly without having a lot of extra pillow sticking out everywhere. Standard size pillows would always get in the way of where i wanted to put my arms when side sleeping, but the small doesn’t have this problem. I also think the standard size would be harder to adjust and heavier to move around, but the small is perfect. Only downside is it is harder to find pillow cases for, but it fits pretty well sideways in a standard size pillow case with the empty half of the pillow case tucked under the pillow.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

May 16, 2022

Juan
San Francisco, CA

The Ultimate Pillow

We have used the buckwheat pillows since 1996 and they finally wore out. We browsed the Internet and we found Hullopillow.com

We have purchased 2 of the queen size pillows and they are the real deal. These pillows do not smell or have any odor. If you have any doubt about these pillows, please don’t hesitate Purchase them. We have done some research and these are the best!

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

May 16, 2022

Joshua
North Carolina

I’ve Really Enjoyed It!

Both my wife and I were a little shocked with just how firm the pillows were when we received them, but after a few months now, it’s hard whenever we sleep on anything else.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

April 26, 2022

S.
Mountain View, CA

Took Time to Grow on Me, but this is the Best!

The hullo buckwheat pillow is very comfy. I had to remove some of the hulls but once a couple of weeks went by, I find the pillow very comfortable. It is solid and forms a concave shape based on your head position. This is the best pillow I have used.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

April 25, 2022

Carol
Sun Prarie, WI

Great Pillow!

Very adjustable since you can remove hulls to fit your specific body size.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

April 19, 2022

Dan C.
Richmond, VA

My Wife Makes Fun of Me…

…but I sleep better than I ever have with my Hullo pillow. I was hesitant at first, I’ve never spent so much on a pillow before, but I go through a couple of pillows a year because they flatten out. At one point I was sleeping with 2 or 3 pillows to be comfortable. This is the last pillow I’ll ever buy! It is comfortable, stable, and stays cool.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

April 16, 2022

Dee
Philadelphia, PA

Love This Pillow

I bought this pillow because I sleep with a CPAP machine for sleep apnea and wasn’t able to sleep on my side with a regular pillow. I’ve been sleeping like a champ (on my side) and getting a great night’s sleep with my Hullo pillow! I saw reviews complaining that the pillow is noisy, but that’s not an issue for me.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

April 10, 2022

Steve Ralph
Oconomowoc, WI

Great Pillow

The pillow is very supportive!

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

April 4, 2022

Deb
Phoenix, AZ

Love Buckwheat Pillows!

We’ve been sleeping on buckwheat pillows for decades and love them. When it was time to buy new ones, we did a bit more research than previously and we’re happy to have found Hullo. After a few hull adjustments, we’re as pleased as can be with our pillows. My only suggestion is that the pillows could be made with 100% organic components: buckwheat hulls and pillow cases. Highly recommend Hullo.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

April 2, 2022

Pam
Everett, WA

Pillow is Terrible

I got a recommendation from a patient for this pillow, but after the first night, it caused extreme head, neck, and shoulder pain! It was as hard as a rock. And it was also very loud every time you move to change positions to try to get comfortable with it. It is definitely not the pillow for us to sell to our patients when it causes extreme pain. The return policy is very misleading since the company gives you 60 days to return the pillow for a full refund, but when you ask to return the pillow they email you and ask you not to because of the impact on the environment. The pillow and the box weigh almost 15 lbs which will cost over $50 to ship back, and I will pay that to get the remaining refund. Companies that are misleading in the verbiage on their websites, or do not disclose that they do not pay for shipping on a return, and just leave out the information that your refund is minus your return shipping costs, is not a company my healthcare facility will do business with. The www.hullopillow.com website on returns is misleading.

Note from Hullo: We try to be clear with our return policy, which states return shipping is the responsibility of the customer. Return shipping cost depends on the carrier/service, but typically is nowhere near $50 for one pillow via standard ground shipping. As a small business, we do our best to balance value to our customers with operating expenses and our ecological footprint.

April 1, 2022

Alex
Minneapolis, MN

So Good!

I was admittedly very skeptical about the Hullo pillow and didn’t even throw away the box, thinking I’d return it. I kid you not, after night one, I woke out without any neck/jaw pain for the first time in YEARS. I was absolutely shocked and cannot say enough good things about the pillow. I ended up buying a second for my mom and she loves hers, too.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

March 20, 2022

David Crowther
Lehi, UT

I Use Just One Pillow Now and Don’t Have to Flip It

It did take a few days to adjust to the Hullo pillow. Now I use just one Hullo pillow after using 2 pillows for years. It doesn’t get hot (haven’t tried it through a summer yet) and the support is great. An unexpected benefit from the Hullo is that it provides wonderful back support when I sit up in bed (I put a big throw pillow on top of the Hullo for my head).

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

February 16, 2022

Dustin
Minneapolis, MN

One of the Best Purchases I’ve Ever Made

This pillow is exactly what I wanted. It’s a firm and comfortable support I look forward to every night. I’m buying a smaller one for travel because I love this so much.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

February 15, 2022

Amy
Queens, NY

Firm Support

After years of using down pillows and suffering with neck pain I am so happy to have discovered hullo pillows. I get firm support and still feel comfortable. The cotton twill case is lovely. I wish I could buy another cotton case for when I throw this one in the wash.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

February 14, 2022

Jonathon Lillie
Redlands, CA

My Wife Won’t Give it Back

I picked up a hullo after hearing about it on a podcast.

I got one night on it before my wife stole it. She does have trouble sometimes getting it to flow right but refuses to give it back.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

February 12, 2022

Bill Meier
Duluth, MN

Great Product!

Skeptical at first. All of my life I have preferred super soft goose downy pillows. I ended up with a Hulo pillow and did not think I would like it at all. It seemed way to firm and noisy for my pillow tastes. I threw it on my bed with the rest of my tried and true super soft pillows. I figured that it might act as a foundation. Slowly but surely I ended up pushing the old pillows aside for the Hulo pillow. Much to my surprise, I now prefer the buckwheat hulls over goose down. Although firmer, the hullo pillow has just the right amount of give while supporting my head and neck positions. Gone are the sore necks, kinks and pinched nerves. Thanks Hullo for a great product!!!

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

February 9, 2022

E
Metro, MN

FINALLY Feel Supported at Night!

I had to remove a decent amount of stuffing to get to my own personal support level, but I love that I had the option to do that! I’m all over the place at night and this thing goes where I tell it too and it STAYS there.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

January 29, 2022