Hullo™ Buckwheat Pillow Reviews

4.5/5 Average Rating 4.7 out of 5 stars (153)

86% of respondents would recommend Hullo to a friend.

November 30, 2016

The Best Pillow You Will Ever Sleep On

Rating: 5.0 out of 5 stars (5/5)  I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

I am obsessed with my Hullos. When I am at home, I cannot sleep comfortably unless I have them. I definitely miss them when I traveling, and I am going to purchase a small pillow for traveling. I use them as back support and as a pillow to hug while I am sleeping. I love that they are moldable so I can customize the support of my back and neck.

I have two young children, so by the end of the day my back is aching from bending down and picking babies and toys up all day.  They take some getting used to, and they are more expensive than some pillows, but well worth it.  Plus I love that they are organic and stay very clean/dust-free.

I honestly can’t say enough good things.  Highly recommend!!!

–Clarie H.

Verified Purchase

October 29, 2016

This Pillow is Amazing

Rating: 5.0 out of 5 stars (5/5)  I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

I’ve been looking for buckwheat pillows since I left mine in hotel room. This buckwheat pillow is better than the one I had…

You can’t go wrong with this pillow.

–Don Pratt

Verified Purchase

October 28, 2016

Heavy, but Effective

Rating: 4.0 out of 5 stars (4/5)  I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

Note, this pillow is not for everyone. First, the bad:

  • HEAVY
  • a little noisy
  • if you like to be fussy about your pillow positioning, this gives you lots of opportunity to be fussy
  • A colleague’s wife had one and returned it because she leaves jewelry in her ear and the Hullo was too firm for such a thing.

Now, the good:

  • Although it doesn’t feel “cool,” I really don’t notice it getting as warm as any previous pillow avoiding that warm pillow feeling. In fact, I don’t recall EVER needing to turn it or reposition it in the night or noticing in the morning that I’ve gotten hot. This is HUGE for me.
  • You really do have infinite positioning capability by shuffling the hulls when your head is on it.

Oh, unexpected bonus. Wife had Hullo over her abdomen when our toddler leapt on her knees-first. Hullo completely absorbed and dissipated the impact.

So, more bad points than good points, but the good points completely overwhelm the bad points for me. In short, it comes down to personal preference. You spend a few extra seconds getting it in the right position when you first bed down, but then you don’t need to move it all night, which is good b/c if you needed to, it’s heavy and noisy.

–Micah Cooper

Verified Purchase

October 28, 2016

Good at First

Rating: 2.0 out of 5 stars (2/5) 

I loved this pillow at first, the noise was nothing and the comfort level was high. It even looked really good, which is not something I normally notice.

However, after a few months, I started developing headaches and neck pain. I took out fill, added fill, and did what I could. It just wasn’t for me. I shift from my side to my back during the night and it’s not easy to readjust the pillow without waking up and doing it. Of course, I was outside the return window but that was my fault.

–Adam

Verified Purchase

October 27, 2016

Highly Recommended

Rating: 5.0 out of 5 stars (5/5)  I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

I love my pillow, needed to take some of the fill out to reach my desired firmness, but I preferred too much fill, which was easy to remove, rather than too little. I sleep better with this pillow than any other I’ve found.

My 6 year old daughter has hijacked it for now because she loves its weight on her body as she falls asleep! I am going to need to steal it back!

–Jenna

Verified Purchase

October 27, 2016

Flexibility’s the Greatest

Rating: 5.0 out of 5 stars (5/5)  I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

When the pillow arrived it was too full to use, so I took out 8 cups and that ended up still a little too full for me so I took out another 8 cups and while that may have been a little too much it works for me. I learned a long time ago that I didn’t really need a pillow until I switched to a waterbed. Then I started using a buckwheat hull pillow  that was not adjustable. Still I found that what I needed was support under my neck. That pillow died and I got the Hullo as a replacement. Now with it as light as it is I can jam the whole thing under my neck and get the support I need. The buckwheat pillow is always cool when the night is it’s hottest and a relief to feel in those conditions.

Washing the pillow (minus the buckwheat) is something I haven’t tried yet though I’m curious to see the results. Being able to change the size to suit my needs is the feature that sold me on the Hullo and I don’t regret it.

–Jim

Verified Purchase

October 27, 2016

Sturdy and Comfortable!

Rating: 5.0 out of 5 stars (5/5)  I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

I’ve had my Hullo pillow for a little over 6 months now and I’ve loved it the whole time. I prefer firm pillows when I sleep and, before buying this one, would generally get a pillow, use it for maybe a year, and then get gradually worse sleep as the pillow wore out until I grabbed a new one and started the process over again. Though it hasn’t been a year yet, the Hullo has been as solid as when I first got it and has helped my sleep immensely. I will say if you are considering buying one it definitely takes some getting used to and isn’t for everyone. It’s by far the firmest pillow I’ve used (which was great for me it turns out) and when you lay on it you stay put where you laid your head down. Also the sound of the pillow can take some adjusting too since it is a bag full of hulls; it’s not a loud sound, but it is something to get used to if you shift around at night.

Overall, though, I can’t recommend it enough!

–William

Verified Purchase

October 25, 2016

Pressuring Everyone to Get One

Rating: 5.0 out of 5 stars (5/5)  I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

Ever since I got this pillow (smallest size), I sleep super well.

It stabilizes my head at a supportive level so that it’s set to stay there for 8 hours as I sleep.

I loved it so much, I considered getting a buckwheat hull bed… and then I did.

I also got my sister one for her birthday and she’s pretty happy with it.

It feels pretty good about sleeping on something that’s made in the USA, doesn’t pollute a ton in its creation, and won’t pollute when I’m done with it.

Win-win all around.

–Maria

Verified Purchase

October 25, 2016

Time Out For Now

Rating: 3.0 out of 5 stars (3/5)  I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

I have the Hullo and really, really enjoyed it the first several months. Now I think it’s time for a break with a softer pillow. The height is a little too high for my shoulders and adjusting it each night can become a chore. I’ll definitely revisit it, but have not yet stopped using it.

–Joe

Verified Purchase

October 25, 2016

Are You Freaking Kidding Me?

Rating: 5.0 out of 5 stars (5/5)  I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

This pillow is amazing. If you have any neck problems I highly recommend it. It takes a day to get used to the noise, but completely worth it.

–Jessica

Verified Purchase