4.5 Average Rating

4.5 out of 5 stars  352 Reviews
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Hullo Pillow Reviews

Ken
Durango, IA

Glad I Finally Got Around to Trying It

I have heard about buckwheat pillows for years but had never tried one until now. Last night was the 4th night of sleeping with my new Hullo Buckwheat pillow. I really like it. It takes a little getting used to, but I know I’m falling asleep faster, tossing and turning much less, sleeping better, and I’m not waking up with the usual pain in my neck that I’ve had for a long time, so I think I’ve found my pillow for life. I can’t say that it is significantly cooler to sleep on than other so-called “cooling” pillows I’ve tried, but with the right pillow case on it it’s not as hot as some others I’ve tried. I removed some of the buckwheat hulls from it so that it isn’t quite as full as it was when it arrived and I think that made it even better.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

August 7, 2022

Atty
Santa Barbara, CA

Helpful, but not Super Soft and Comfy

The product gets 5 stars for meeting expectations. The pillow is exactly as explained. I have cervical stenosis and arthritis and nothing will remove the discomfort. Still, the texture from the hulls places my head at a perfect height to let me sleep comfortably on my back. I tend to sleep on my side, and so the edges provide less support than I want, or need. When I turn, I wonder if the crunchy sound might wake my spouse—he says it does not. And if I’m sound asleep, it doesn’t bother me either. I also think the hulls allow a definite cooling, which is great. I miss the softness of hypoallergenic polyester, but not the plastic, and certainly not the head-in-a-hole feeling. The Hullo pillow does what it says. And the smell is very very very faint and pleasant.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

July 31, 2022

Mike
Petaluma, CA

Excellent After Quick Adjustment Period

At first, it was a strange and new feeling (and sound) rolling around on my new pillow at night. I was worried I wouldn’t get used to it and would find it distracting. This quickly passed. I am 100% committed and happy with my Hullo and I want to take it with me when I travel! Add or subtract the buckwheat filler until the pillow thickness is perfect for you; then, once you settle in for sleep, the pillow takes the shape you need and holds that shape. It is heavy, so when you are selecting your size, keep in mind that it’s not as easy to move as you might like (for example, when sliding toward my partner in the center of the bed vs when scooting off to give her some space). If you’re on the fence, just give it a try. I really do recommend this product.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

July 11, 2022

Meg Girty
New Kensington, PA

I Won’t Use Anything Else

I first started using a buckwheat hull pillow over 20 years ago under a brand name. When it came time to replace them I found this site Hullo Pillow because I searched for just the hulls in order to make my own rather than pay over $70 each for a replacement. I bought the 10 lb bag of Hullo. I also bought smaller (may be for a crib but they’re slightly smaller than standard sized) zippered pillow cases and waterproof zippered standard pillow cases on another site. I wound up with 3 nicely stuffed pillows. It sounds like a lot of cases but my dog likes to lick pillows for some reason. I stuffed each small case with Hullo and then put into a waterproof case before putting all into my regular cases that go with whatever sheets I’m using.

At first they’re crunchy but you get used to that and it’s fantastic to have a firm and cool pillow under my head and shoulders that doesn’t shift or go flat as I move around. One little push or pull and it’s readjusted. No waking up to fluff and readjust like with poly fill, foam, etc. It’s also so much cooler especially in the summer time. These 3 new ones will last me a long time and I’ve recommended Hullo to several friends with neck and shoulder problems who have tried out mine and swear by using buckwheat pillows now.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

July 9, 2022

Chris McGee
Lexington, KY

Can Be Hard, but Easily Fixed

I didn’t think I’d like this pillow. After all, how could buckwheat hulls be soft enough for a pillow? Well, it turns out that if you think of them more like a beanbag chair, then you get a better idea of how they can be comfortable. After the first two nights of good sleep, I was mostly convinced that these are just as good as a regular feather or memory foam pillows.

Sometimes you might get in a position where the pillow just feels hard, like a rock. But a little fluffing with your hands can fix that, so it’s not a big deal; your head will then sink right into that ‘rock.’ Definitely give it a try. It’s better than you might think.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

June 28, 2022

Tess
Tacoma, WA

Different but Better

After switching to a Hullo pillow earlier this year, I can’t imagine ever going back to a feather pillow again. I’m no longer woken up with a sore shoulder or having to get out of bed in the morning with a stiff neck. The filling makes these pillows super adjustable. It took a couple nights to get used to it but now my partner and I love these!

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

May 30, 2022

Phil
Madison, WI

Wish I had Tried this Sooner!

Love my Hullo. Unlike any other pillow I’ve tried, I can shape it just to the right height and comfort, and then it STAYS PUT. My head doesn’t sink in gradually, and I finally can get the support I need as a side sleeper, and have it stay put all night. I wouldn’t recommend this for back sleepers, but for me it has been the pillow I have always needed but never had. I also love that the filling level can be adjusted, and that the filling contents are compostable if i ever need to replace them—so tired of all the plastic filled pillows.

Also, for anyone wondering about size, I got the small, and I’m super glad I did. It’s just the right size, and supports my head perfectly without having a lot of extra pillow sticking out everywhere. Standard size pillows would always get in the way of where i wanted to put my arms when side sleeping, but the small doesn’t have this problem. I also think the standard size would be harder to adjust and heavier to move around, but the small is perfect. Only downside is it is harder to find pillow cases for, but it fits pretty well sideways in a standard size pillow case with the empty half of the pillow case tucked under the pillow.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

May 16, 2022

Juan
San Francisco, CA

The Ultimate Pillow

We have used the buckwheat pillows since 1996 and they finally wore out. We browsed the Internet and we found Hullopillow.com

We have purchased 2 of the queen size pillows and they are the real deal. These pillows do not smell or have any odor. If you have any doubt about these pillows, please don’t hesitate Purchase them. We have done some research and these are the best!

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

May 16, 2022

Joshua
North Carolina

I’ve Really Enjoyed It!

Both my wife and I were a little shocked with just how firm the pillows were when we received them, but after a few months now, it’s hard whenever we sleep on anything else.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

April 26, 2022

S.
Mountain View, CA

Took Time to Grow on Me, but this is the Best!

The hullo buckwheat pillow is very comfy. I had to remove some of the hulls but once a couple of weeks went by, I find the pillow very comfortable. It is solid and forms a concave shape based on your head position. This is the best pillow I have used.

I would recommend Hullo to a friend.

April 25, 2022